The Workout

After having two kids I’ve really become twice the woman I was before, like literally, I used to weigh 48kg now i weigh a staggering 71kg, extreme I know.So I’ve decided that gymming and a healthier diet is the road to getting a bit of that fabulousness that I used to have back.

Whilst driving my older son asks me why I’m going to gym and I say to get fit. This question is followed by another; why you want to get fit mummy and I realise that if I didn’t simplify it for him the questions would be endless, so I tell him, ” mummy’s bum is big and going to gym will make it smaller.” This answer satisfies him and we continue driving.

I make my way to the gym, two munchkins in tow, of course. I stop at the mall, place my heavy gym bag over my shoulders and untie the car seats. I grab their gym daycare bags, hold the older sons hand and carry the baby.

As I walk through the mall I get a mixture of sympathetic and admirable looks but decide to hold on to the admirable looks for inspiration. We go one floor up and we have made it. By now i feel like I’ve got my cardio workout under the belt, despite the perspiration I venture on. I arrive at the daycare and settle the boys in front of dora the explorer.

As I leave the daycare the little one decides to cry for mummy so I turned back and tried consoling him. When that didn’t work I tried putting him to sleep.Fastforward an hour later and I’m still at the gyms daycare bouncing around trying to get my baby asleep. He relaxes and I give him to the carer and like a thief in the night, run for the treadmills.I was running for about 5 minutes when I heard the dreadful announcement, “Mrs Rohan could you please report to reception.”I drag my feet to the daycare where I find an exhausted and flustered carer. She says that she really tried and that he was making all the other kids cry.I claimed defeat and walked back to my car.

My bigger son then turns to look at me and asks, “mummy is your bum smaller now,” I had to laugh.

Standard

One thought on “The Workout

Leave a Reply

