Greener pastures

The grass is always greener on the other side. That is the way i used to live my life.

If I zoom in on every period of my life there has always been the next thing that I was looking forward to. For instance, when I was a little girl I wanted to be in ‘big school’, then I wanted university, then marriage, when I was married I wanted kids and now that I have kids I keep looking forward to when they’re a bit older. It’s not that I’m an ungrateful person, i’m just a restless and impatient person by nature.

Then I had a chat with my granny and she told me that these are the best days of my life and that I should not take them for granted. This made me realise that I’m always yearning for the next best thing without truly appreciating what I have right now.

My granny told me that before you know it your kids will be grown up and they won’t have much time for you anymore. My gran is 88 years old, blind, has parkinsons, arthritis and due to a recent fall spends most of her time in a wheelchair reminiscing about the past. This was a wake up call like no other. Was I wishing away the best years of my life?

She explained that all one really wants is to be needed and loved and that children love and need unconditionally. It’s amazing how these words of wisdom changed my perspective of my life. I really don’t want to wake up one day only to find that I took the best years of my life for granted.

Standard

Leave a Reply

